Got burnt by being lazy and running old firmware on a FortiGate 300C. Good new is that the vendor’s support was great.

I have been putting off upgrading one of our Fortinet 300C’s firmware and it came back to bite me yesterday.

While troubleshooting a IPVPN/MPLS issue, I logged into a 300C in one of our data centers and notice the CPU usage was at 100%.  I am running 4.0.15 on a FGT 300C which is way behind.  I looked at the processes and noticed SQLDB was taking up 85% of the CPU.  Not good.   Seeing as I have 24×7 support on this box, I called into Fortinet Support to test drive their response.  We are looking at migrating our primary data center’s prod firewalls from a pair of Sonicwall E5500’s to a pair of Fortinet 800C’s and I wanted to see how their support for larger firewalls is.

I called the 800 # and spoke with a person within 2 minutes. They then transferred me to an engineer. I had to wait 5 – 7 minutes and then was connected.   Once I told him the problem, he sent over a remote support session and took care of the issue within 10 mins.   Here are the transcripts from the support session.

      It was nice talking to you. Summery of our conversation

      – You had issue that CPU usage was 100%. You were running 4.0.15 on FGT 300C

      – We did remote session and saw that sqldb process was consuming around 90%

      – Checked your logging settings and you were logging in disk

      – We disable disk logging by following 

      config log disk settings

      set status disable

      end

      – Checked system status by following commands and it was back to normal

      get system status

      get sys performance status

      diag system top

       – I suggested you to upgrade FGT to at least 5.0.9 and follow release notes I am glad that your

       issue has been resolved and as per our discussion I will go ahead and close this ticket.

I was very pleased to see the quick response and resolution from Fortinet on this issue.

 

-Colin 2/21/15

Leave a comment